A charming green wooded area of Brighton. Withdean Woods is a wooded hillside nature reserve approximately 1 hectare in size. This is the home of several woodland birds including the great spotted woodpecker, tawny owl and goldcrest. Withdean Park is also located in this area, and is home to the national collection of lilacs with over 320 varieties.
The area was originally named in the 12th century and was historically farm land. Withdean Manor was originally the property of the great Cluniac Priory of St. Pancras at Lewes, until 1537. This was then given to Anne of Cleves in 1541 by Henry VIII. The manor was demolished in 1936. This is where Withdean Stadium is located, which was the temporary home of Brighton and Hove Albion F.C. between 1999 and 2011. The stadium site was formerly Brighton Zoo built in 1920.
Developed mainly in the 1920s and 1930s, with a mix of detached houses, semi-detached houses and mid-rise flats. Withdean Road and Wayland Avenue offer some very large detached premier homes.
Train access is via Preston Park Mainline Railway Station which is close by. By car, Dyke Road leads South to Brighton and Hove City Centre and North to the A23/A27.
John Hoole Estate Agents cannot be held responsible for the information contained herin, and it should not be relied upon, as it has been acquired from a variety of different sources. It is purely intended to be a guide with the very best intentions.